ANDERSONS BAY

Club Colours: Red, White & Blue

Situated: 31 Bayfield Road

Men's Club 1917 Women's Club 1918

History

All was not going well for the Allies on the Western Front in 1917. Before dawn on the 4th October, the New Zealand Division attacked at Passchendael, with 1,707 casualties. While the War dominated the local newspapers, life went on in Andersons Bay, and that month a group of local enthusiasts and investors formed and incorporated The Andersons Bay Bowling and Croquet Club Limited.



Photo 1 - Andersons Bay Opening Day 1918

On 1st November 1917, the company agreed to purchase six lots in Bayfield Road containing about 1½ acres, formerly the site of an old brick field. The founding directors were Thomas Somerville, stationer, William Thomas Hall, plumber, Alfred James Rutherford, warehouseman, Edmund Anscombe, architect, Roderick McKenzie McLennan, shipping man-ager, Alfred John Gall and Francis Joseph Campbell, both retired, and they and forty eight others became the first shareholders.

The Board accepted the tender of Mr William Dun-ford of £270 for the formation of the bowling green, on the condition that is to be completed by 31st January 1918. Edmund Anscombe (1874-1948), architect of the Otago University Medical School and the Dental School, prepared plans and specifications for the clubhouse and after a rocky tender process, the tenders of Mr Wm Geo Wallace of £334-15-0 for the pavilion, including veranda, and of Messrs J Hall & Sons for plumbing and drainage were accepted.

Formation of the green and construction of the clubhouse occupied the next year, although now of practical concern to Andersons Bay bowlers was the

effects of the great influenza epidemic. The Club held its official opening on 26th October 1918. Mr Somerville, the president, declared the green open and "mentioned that something in the nature of a bowling green had been in existence in the locality 35 year ago", and extended a hearty invitation to returned soldiers to visit the green whenever they felt so disposed. The site he referred to was likely near the corner of Marne and Somerville Streets, where tennis was later plated. The first bowl was rolled by his sister Bessie.

Centre success soon followed. In 1923 the Club won the Christmas Fours with James Mooney, Joseph J Read, John J Hinchcliff and Alex Simpson as skip.

Little interest was shown for the game of croquet. The estimated formation cost of £138-16-0 plus cost of grass was considered to be beyond the ability of the company to meet, and the croquet was abandoned in June 1920. The Tainui Tennis Club saw this as an opportunity, and proposed the laying of five tennis courts on the croquet land, The bowling Club, however, sensed an uneasy alliance of youth and age, and the proposal was neatly diverted by convincing the tennis players that levels would be a problem and the area too limited.

Eventually, following problems of broom and gorse infestation, the land was sold in 1925 for £250. The proceeds from this sale enabled the Club to clear its debts and become, for the first time, debt free. The Club's land had shrunk to a manageable 3164 m2 in today's terms, and its facilities were now firmly



Photo 2 – Andersons Bay Opening c1947 established along lines that still apply today.

The company was legally wound up in 1961 and all assets transferred to the Andersons Bay Bowling Club, as an incorporated body.

As early as 1921 a delegation of ladies was invited to an executive meeting to thrash out the terms under which they would be allowed to play. They formed themselves into a committee, with Mrs Bennett, Junior, as convenor and Mrs Irvine, later the first secretary of the ladies club. By November, ladies membership stood at 30. The Clubs next annual report indicated that the Club had



Photo 3 - Enjoying the fun at the Pacifika Tournament 2007

found that the admission of ladies had proved and unqualified success. Subsequently a women's club was formed and an amalgamation of all men's and women's clubs was urged by Bowls New Zealand, the constitution of Andersons Bay Bowling Club easily absorbed the two clubs in 1999, and amalgamation is proving an unqualified success.

The Club pavilion and lounge were completely rebuilt in two stages in 1975 and 1979, with the hall being built large enough to accommodate

the mighty Vauxhall Indoor Bowling Club as its cordial tenant. In 2001-02, the greens surrounds were entirely redeveloped so that all facilities are first class.

Administrative Honours

Contribution to Centre and New Zealand Bowls Management have never been shirked. Presidents of the Dunedin Bowling Centre have been Francis J Campbell (1924-25), Joseph J Read (1935-36), Alex T Robertson (1943-44), Charles S Peake (1953-54), R A King (1966-67), Stan C Seear (1982-83); Mr E R (Dick) Callon was president In 1984-85, while he was the delegate for the Karitane Club. Mr Seear is the only member to have been made a Life Member of the Centre. Marjorie Granger in 1970-71 and Pam Cromar in 1993-94 were presidents of the now absorbed Ladies Centre.

At National level, Mr Callon was a Councillor from 1982 till 1988. Mr Seear was a Councillor from 1982 until

1984. He was also a National Selector for 10 years, Manager of many New Zealand teams and was Bowls Manager at the XIV Commonwealth Games in 1990. **Norma Jones** served on the Council of Bowls New Zealand in 1996-98.

Playing Honours

Never overly rich in success outside the club, yet several men have been formidable in Centre competition, while Stuart Jones was outstanding. Robert Kirkcaldy Aitchison (1892-1972) is the sole male club member to win a Centre Gold Star.

The current line of Women members however is outstanding - Lyn Bevin, Lesley Dabinett, Winnie McLelland, Lorraine Swanson,

Sonia Sinclair and Gaynor Reid form a fearsome sextet of women who have won a multitude of Centre Gold



Photo ~ 4 Lyn Bevin



Photo ~ 5 Winnie McLelland



Photo ~ 5 Lesley Dabinett



Photo ~ 8 Sonia Sinclair

Photo 7 ~ Lorraine Swanson

Stars and propelled the club to much recent success in women's competitions.

The Club and its attractive facilities, suit the Andersons Bay people very well today. Close proximity enables the club to maintain a strong programme of promoting the game among, and coaching of, Bayfield High School pupils each year.

The Club organises several recruiting incentives such as the recently introduced Pacifika Tournament held to encourage local participation.

Membership:	70 Men		27 Women
Patron:	Stan Seear MNZM	President:	Winnie McLelland
Secretary:	Terry Maguire		
Club Captain	Winnie McLelland		
Delegates	Leon Olivier	Evan Roberts	Rachel McDowall
Selectors - Men:	Graeme Cocks	Women:	Tasma Burton
	Ron Paterson		Malia Ellison
	Bob Warren		Dorothy Day
	Bruce Beath		
Greens - Supervisor:	Kevin Galvin		